Why Are People Sad?

sadNever lose sight of your dreams, or follow the path created by others. Follow your dreams and make your own path in life. It is your life to live, so create one that is worth living and you can be proud of…not one that other people expect of you.

In my own personal experience, I was so focused on trying to please everyone else, follow a plan that others had in mind for me, and do what I thought they wanted in order to please them. But along the way I lost sight of what I truly wanted and become dissatisfied with the life I was living. This led to bouts of depression and anxiety as I worried too much about the future and whether or not I was following a path created by others.

What I soon realized is that I am an individual, and my life and path does not depend on others, as it is mine to create, make mistakes, learn, and grow. No one can judge me for what I do or have done and becoming aware of this has made a huge difference in my personal happiness.

Whenever I regress to thinking I have to follow a different path in life that is not my own, I look back at an excerpt from the poem The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost and it reminds me that I am doing the right thing. My identity is mine to create and not be shaped or influenced by others.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. 

The Road Not Taken – Robert Frost

 

Leave a Reply

