My Happiness

After completing my 30 Days of Happiness project, I have come to the realization that I am the creator of my own happiness. My happiness is a product of my circumstances, and what I choose to make of my situation; my happiness does not depend on other people.

happy people

 

“The purpose of our life is to be happy.” – Dalai Lama

So, here is what made me happy over the last 30 days…

1 Day 1: Coming into an empty gym bright and early on a Sunday morning for a much-needed workout. Working out and getting exercise instantly brightens my mood and leaves me feeling good for the rest of the day.

2 Day 2: A day of bright sunny skies after we had been experiencing cold overcast days for what seemed like weeks. I love the sun and the benefits that come along with being out in the sunshine.

3 Day 3: Another beautiful day outside and I decided to go for a walk in my neighborhood while listening to some music from a new playlist I made off of Soundcloud. I especially enjoyed this song…

4 Day 4: Night time reading. I enjoy relaxing at the end of the day and laying in bed to read. I have an eclectic taste in books, but pulled this one back out to start reading again.

5 Day 5: Met up with a friend for some drinks. A good way to unwind after a tough day of work.

6 Day 6: The return of baseball season to Toronto with the Blue Jays home opener. Always a great experience and also managed to catch up with some great friends from my hometown.

7 Day 7: Snacks on a cheat day. I tend to eat pretty healthy during the week, but give myself one day to indulge (within reason), and I was having a craving for nachos and salsa.

8 Day 8: The season premiere of Game of Thrones. I am a huge fan of the TV show, and a bigger fan of the books. I am full on addicted to everything that relates to Game of Thrones. Hoping to get to the GoT exhibit when it come through town next month.

9Day 9: Went for Chinese food at lunch and had this message in my fortune cookie. I am often hard on myself that I sometimes don’t fit in, and am an admitted introvert, so reading this message brought a smile to my face.

10 Day 10: Had an idea in mind for a new painting and decided to sit down and draw something up. I find painting really relaxes me as I tend to zone out and block external things from my mind as I just focus on my art. I enjoy doing it, and will continue to express myself artistically.

11Day 11: Woke up before the sunrise today. I am a morning person, especially because of work, and I like getting an early start to the day. Plus, watching the sunrise is always an added bonus.

12 Day 12: Found a $50 bill while walking down the street at work. Completely random experience, and I wrote about this in an earlier post, while also managing to cross off an item from my list 44. Pay a Strangers Bill.

13 Day 13: Relaxing at the end of a work week with a movie on the big screen. This particular movie was Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory, a classic, which I hadn’t seen in a few years. I may have also sung along with the Oompa Loompa’s once or twice.

14 Day 14: Watching the sunrise on a Saturday morning as I start my day. I have a great view from my condo facing east, so I get to see some incredible sun rises. You know it’s going to be a good day when you see the sky start to light up.

15 Day 15: Being inspired by others. I walked into this 10 km race after leaving my gym, and stopped for a while to watch the racers run by. They were all so happy and full of energy and it was awesome to watch. One of the items on my list is 31. Complete a half marathon, and watching these runners has inspired me to start working towards that goal.

16 Day 16: An Epsom salts bath. It feels so relaxing to have a hot bath with Epsom salts after working so hard and exhausting your muscles. I am now hooked and have a few of these each week.

17 Day 17: A new pair of gym shoes. I frequent the gym quite often, and go through a few pairs of shoes each year (I may also have a running shoe addiction, as I currently have a pair for each day of the week). I feel motivated when I have a new pair of shoes or some new gym attire. Anything to get me going.

18 Day 18: A beautiful early morning picture. The picture doesn’t do enough justice to what I witnessed on this morning. I just happened to look back West towards downtown Toronto and saw a full moon sitting in the sky beside the CN Tower. I was pretty incredible to see and try to capture the moment.

19Day 19: Making plans to continue being healthy and fit, while also keeping myself accountable. I have found that writing down goals or things that I want/need to get down makes me try that much harder to achieve them. I have a focus in mind and reminder of what I want.

“You’re either getting better, or you’re getting worse.”

 

20Day 20: Being able to sleep in and then escape the city for the weekend. I normally get up at 5:00 am during the week, and 6:30 am on the weekends, so being able to sleep in on a holiday Friday was amazing. It was also great to get out of the city for more than a couple of days during the Easter weekend.


21Day 21: Away from the city and out into nature. Even though I work outside, I am constantly surrounded by concrete living in Toronto. It was great to finally be around some greenery and truly experience what it is like to be outside and smell nature.

While doing hard work I kept thinking of this skit with Will Ferrell where he plays Robert Goulet and has the line “Naaaatttuuure…” I was laughing to myself for a good hour afterwards.

22 Day 22: Spending time with family. Holidays are always a great excuse to spend time with family, and playing with my niece and nephew are always an added bonus. I like to think I am a big kid at heart, so we have a great time together.

23 Day 23: New gear for baseball season. After sitting on the sidelines last year while recovering from my shoulder surgery, I am especially excited about making my comeback this season. I’ll be playing a couple of nights a week this spring/summer and am really looking forward to it.

24 Day 24: The smell of fresh laundry. I don’t know what it is, but I really enjoy the smell of clean clothes. Doing laundry is actually something I enjoy…minus the folding of the clothes. It’s the small things in life.

25 Day 25: Trying a new recipe for a post-workout protein shake after going hard at the gym. I challenged myself to achieve the goal 77. Get in optimal shape, so all this hard work in the gym, and healthy eating will one day pay off with the accomplishment of crossing off that goal.

26 Day 26: This was an all-around great day as I woke up super early (4:30 am) to get into the gym before work. The sun was then rising on my walk into work and made for the start of a beauty day. To end the day, I spent some time on a patio with a friend to enjoy the great weather.

27 Day 27: A delicious lunch at the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto. On a cold and windy day, we made a point of coming here for lunch at the end of the work week. I was also having a craving for a Veal Parmesan sandwich with hot peppers. So good.

28

Day 28: Going bowling. I have only been 10 pin bowling a handful of times in my life, but I have really enjoyed myself each time (even though I am not that great). It was fun to get out with a friend and do something I don’t normally do.

29 Day 29: Trying something new. With my shift towards a healthier diet I have been looking at new things to try to decided to try juicing with a recipe I found. This particular drink had beets, spinach, cucumber and coconut water in it. I will try anything once, and am always looking for new things to try.

30Day 30: Healthy eating and a great gym session. I prepare my meals for the week so that I have enough food to eat and don’t have to rely on buying something while at work. I love eating fruit, and this fruit salad was quite delicious. I am quite focused now at the gym, and have been stepping up my workouts now that I am completely pain-free following my surgery last year.

This was a fun project to do, and I found that I have become more aware of the things that make me happy. Now that I have gone 30 days with this project, it has almost become a habit and I look forward to continually looking at and recognizing the things that make me happy every day. I have written about my past struggles, and this has been a great way to get me smiling and enjoying life again. I am happier than I have been in some time.

Now, it is onto my next project, documenting my healthy living for the next 30 days as I make this next challenge become a habit.

Leave a Reply

