89. Bake Someone a Birthday Cake

This was one of those items a saw as being relatively easy, but since I had never baked anything before, saw it as also being a challenge. Many birthdays have passed since I first wrote down all 100 of my goals, but I never took advantage of the opportunity to test my baking skills.

Since my Mom’s birthday is this week, and I am back home visiting, I figured this is the perfect opportunity. The added bonus is that, even if the birthday cake didn’t turn out, she would never let me know.
IMG_20140122_151309

This is completely new to me, and I really had no idea how to bake a cake. In the past I would just go to the store and pick up a cake instead of attempting this. I have eaten many cakes in my life, but never even considered baking one myself.

I am not going to be posting any recipes anytime soon, or trying out for any baking reality shows. But it was a good learning opportunity and got me out of my comfort zone.

In the end, I am glad I tried something new, and I think for a first try it turned out alright (For the record: I am better at icing a cake than taking the cake out of the pan). Who knows, maybe I will try it again down the road and see what I can improve on. There is always next year.IMG_20140122_160824Happy Birthday Mom!

 

Leave a Reply

