90. Reconnect With an Old Teacher

teacherWhen I started this list, and came down to 90. Reconnect with an old teacher, I had one in mind who I wanted to reconnect with. I wasn’t sure how I would accomplish this, since I had fallen out of touch with this former professor of mine, but I had kept it in mind.

One day while at work, I was having conversation with a colleague about what I had taken in school. I told him I went back a few years ago to pursue a degree in International Development Studies and we had a discussion and what that entailed. When he listened to me describe the course he said his niece was taking something similar here in Toronto. So, curiosity got the best of me and I searched out the program on the University of Toronto website.

To my surprise and astonishment, my old professor was now teaching in the program. Ironic? Coincidence? Maybe. But the way I came across him, and the events leading up to it, was one of those things where it just seemed like it was supposed to happen.

I got in touch with him and he told me I had crossed his mind recently, which was very coincidental in itself. We have conversed and I hope to stay in touch with him in the future. He is extremely passionate about what he does and that made a huge impact on me when I decide to go back to school. His inspiration drove me to try to be the best student I could be, and because of his help and guidance I was able to achieve certain goals I had set out for myself when I went back (Get on the Dean’s list, Graduate with distinction).

He may not have known it at the time, but he was an inspiration to me. Thank you Ryan Isakson, you made a difference in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

