69. Hug a stranger

Today I found myself in downtown Toronto, and after going to the gym this morning I walked out into the victory parade for the Toronto Argonauts. Having won the 100th Grey Cup, the Argos celebrated their victory with a parade and gathering at Toronto’s City Hall. I will admit that I am not the biggest fan of the CFL, but I do support all the sports teams in this city. Sports fans in Toronto are a long-suffering group, as we have not had very many winners in this city…especially in my lifetime. The last time we could celebrate a champion was back in 2004 when the Argos last won the Grey Cup.

As I was walking through the crowd to get a better look at what was going on, as I was unaware of the festivities before showing up, a very enthusiastic fan stopped me, yelled ‘AAARRRRGGGGOOOOSSSS’ and then high-fived me. She was probably in her 40s and I loved her spirit and enthusiasm. I thought this was a great time to cross another item off my list…so after our high-five I gave her a hug, explained that I had written a bucket list with 100 items on it and that she just helped me cross one of those off. She was really excited and sincere about being a part of it and gave me a huge smile and hugged me again. My phone had died just before this and I was unable to get a picture with her, but she knows who she is. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

